Yet another reason why it’s good to be alive in Austin, Texas.

mmmmmmmm

I had just finished up with a project yesterday when I came across this post from the Austinist, touting the green chili pork taco from Torchy’s Tacos, pictured above. Well, I headed straight over to Torchy’s location off of Bouldin Creek on South First (which, by the way, is a gorgeous site situated underneath big swaying live oak trees just above the babbling Bouldin Creek).

I can vouch that the green chili pork taco tastes every bit as good as its picture looks. I also sampled the fried avacado taco, which was excellent as well. Can’t wait to go back to try the [R]epublican (of course), the Democrat, the Brushfire, and—horrible though the connotations its name engenders are–the Dirty Sanchez.

* * * UPDATE * * *

Today, I sampled both the [R]epublican (which is, of course, full of pork), and the Democrat. Much to my chagrin, I have to say the Democrat kicks the [R]epublican’s tail. The barbacoa is fantastic. And I just can’t bring myself to order the Dirty Sanchez: the imagery of its namesake is just too unappetizing.

Thx to the Austinist and Torchy’s Tacos

