In a curious turn of religious teaching, some Christian groups across the county have apparently become convinced that I-35 is a Holy Highway.

This movement began a few years ago and traces its roots to passage in the Book of Isaiah. Chapter 35, verse 8 reads:

And a highway will be there; it will be called the Way of Holiness. The unclean will not journey on it; it will be for those who walk in that Way; wicked fools will not go about on it.

Well, both because the first letter of the Book and the chapter number form the moniker of the highway (“I-35”), and because the verse talks about a road, these believers intuit that I-35 is indeed the road of which Isaiah wrote.

Holy Highway

Being far from a biblical scholar myself, I can’t say one way or the other. However, having frequently zipped along the Texas portion of I-35, I can confirm that–if Isaiah 35:8 is a prophecy–it has not yet come to pass because “wicked fools” still predominate on I-35.

Thx to MSNBC and WCCO.com

